7740 Point Meadows Drive Suite 3A, Jacksonville, FL 32256
904-615-9500
800 Zeagler Drive Suite 400, Palatka, FL 32177
386-866-3400
2450 Old Moultrie Road Suite 101, St. Augustine, FL 32086
904-615-8900
406 Riverside Drive, Waycross, GA 31501
912-452-2700

Reviews for Southeastern Retina Specialists

Dr. John P. Sullivan and Dr. Shawn Agee, understand the importance of being reputable, skilled, and compassionate vitreoretinal surgeons. There are many former patients that can verify that these retina specialists, who are dedicated to meeting your eye care needs, combine innovative technology with a friendly bed-side manner to produce amazing results. Please read their testimonials as they give helpful feedback on each surgeon, their rapport, staff, pre and post-operative experiences, and much more. In this section, you can look through all the procedure reviews from real patients at any of the locations for Southeastern Retina Specialists in Northeast Florida and Southeast Georgia. 

Leave A Review

Filter58 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 17, 2016

He is a very caring Doctor, he will not milk your insurance, he will not give you unnecessary surgery if you don't need it. I will never trust anyone else with my vision More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 30, 2017

Dr Agee though young, is extremely competent and knowledgeable. My surgery was well planned and executed and his staff of nurses was equally so. Hope I don't see him again, but if I need eye work he will be the one I see. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Sep 30, 2017

Mighty like a God unto me.. I could not see out of my left eye. He operated and removed all of the black matter... I CAN SEE AGAIN..!! I will remember this man for the rest of my life. I am so Happy.! You may have to wait a while to see him as he has 100 patients a day. .But, it is entirely worth it. I would recommend no other. The first doctor I went to told me to just go home and live with my condition.... NOT THIS DOCTOR-- HE FIXED WHAT WAS WRONG.. !!! Let me give you a clue folks.. when ever you go to a doctor and he gives you nothing but a gloom and doom report--- GO AND GET YOURSELF A SECOND OPINION. I AM SO GLAD I DID. DR. JOHN P. SULLIVAN IS THE BEST ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 15, 2017

EXCELLENT ! - Best Doctor I have ever had. He treats everyone with respect, and answers all questions.. He is the kind of man you wish you were related to, or even your next door neighbor.. I find no fault in him. He is also a Midwesterner, as I am..I was loosing my eyesight- He restored it. May God always Bless Him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 15, 2017

EXCELLENT ! - Best Doctor I have ever had. He treats everyone with respect, and answers all questions.. He is the kind of man you wish you were related to, or even your next door neighbor.. I find no fault in him. He is also a Midwesterner, as I am..I was loosing my eyesight- He restored it. May God always Bless Him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 14, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 29, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 27, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 25, 2017

Southeastern retina specialist office is usually very busy. Depending on treatment most of my appointments have taken from 1 hour to several. The care from all employees and the doctor is very professional and concerning. Glad to have been referred to this office and I am on the down side treatment for macular degeneration. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 17, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 29, 2017

Great professional staff. Dr. Agee was excellent. He put me at ease and explained things in clear, simple terms. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Yahoo  |  Jun 26, 2017

Dr Sullivan and Dr Agee were excellent in providing very successful retina repairs. They have a huge number of patients but the staff is very pleasant and efficient in preparing patients for their... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 21, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2017

Always the best of the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2017

A great experience. Well trained staff and fixed me right up! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 01, 2017

Excellent staff and Dr Sullivan is a great Dr and a very nice person. Thank you Dr Sullivan for taking care of my wife. Harry More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 28, 2017

I was referred to Doctor Agee after a retinal tear and quite frankly very anxious and scared about losing my vision. Dr Agee was awesome about calming my nerves... it was clear that he knows exactly what he is doing. Although i just had surgery 2 days ago i am confident i am in good hands. It is a long waiting time when you go in the office but i think this pales in comparison if he saves my vision. I am grateful to you Dr Agee! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.O.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 04, 2017

Dr. Sullivan is as compassionate as he is competent! He is in all ways, fantastic! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 18, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 20, 2017

Dr Sullivan is caring and takes the time to explain and answer questions. For a surgeon to recommend against surgery to wait because it may become better without surgery tells me he cares & not in this field just for money. Actually, all of the staff is very kind from the check-in, to the technical staff, and the billing. I have never felt rushed when asking questions. There is sometimes a wait time so I recommend bringing a book or laptop and a snack . They have free wifi. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 10, 2017

Great with their medical expertise, but very slow on seeing patients. Expect from 2 to 3 hour visit. More patients than they can handle. Still excellent in what they do. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 04, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 29, 2016

Brian Mingle could not have said it any better. Dr. Sullivan is worth a long drive and long wait. (Not that I experienced either) Thank you, Dr. Sullivan! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 10, 2016

Dr. Sullivan saved the vision in my right eye and helped me get the miracle of sight back and I'm eternally grateful to him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 24, 2016

My wife and both were apprehensive about her being referred there. After meeting the staff and Dr. Agee our anxiety quickly diminished. Front the front desk to the treatment rooms, the care given is outstanding!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 04, 2016

Dr.Sullivan & his staff are great people,always respectful from check in to check out. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 04, 2016

Everyone went out of their way to welcome me to the clinic and to explain things in layman terms and made sure I understood everything. Dr. Sullivan was very personable and made me feel very comfortable while explaining my diagnosis and the upcoming surgical procedure to fix it. The wait was quite long but worth it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 29, 2016

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 22, 2016

A brilliant doctor, a caring and compassionate human being, and a true healer. Dr. S is always willing to discuss and explain, which I find settling. His skills are legendary among his colleagues. Yes, there are lengthy wait times. This is known in St. Aug, and the grapevine (among elders) offers a great perspective: "Oh, you're seeing Dr. Sullivan? Be sure to pack a lunch!" His staff are skilled, very well-trained, and responsive to patients. Grateful he practices in St. Augustine. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13416503
Review from D.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 20, 2016

I have never seen an office go to such great lengths to help and always be kind and concerned...Very patient and the Dr. is the same way..Spends time with you explaining everything and really top notch from the front office staff to techs and the Doctor...Can't say enough kind words about them... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 29, 2016

I walked in the door with an anxiety level of 8 on scale of 1 to 10, and about 4 hours later I'm walking out with a 0. Why: the technical and communication skills of Dr. John Sullivan and his scribe April. Each recognized the sense of urgency to my opto's referral and calmed me with continuous sharing of information and expectations. I felt so fortunate to be in their laser-precision hands and am certain Dr Sullivan's decision to repair my retinal tear on the spot prevented a detachment and possible vision loss. The front desk and intake staff were professional, open-minded and super friendly! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13158952
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 28, 2016

Dr. Sullivan is awesome. He brought me from being totally blind at least to 20/200. His bedside manner is like no other doctor I've ever had. I feel he's more a friend than my doctor. I know he truly cares about my health and always has my best interest at heart. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 09, 2016

I walked in the door with an anxiety level of 8 on scale of 1 to 10, and about 4 hours later I'm walking out with a 0. Why: the technical and communication skills of Dr. John Sullivan and his scribe April. Each recognized the sense of urgency to my optho's referral and calmed me with continuous sharing of information and expectations. I felt so fortunate to be in their laser-precision hands and am certain Dr Sullivan's decision to repair my retinal tear on the spot prevented a detachment and possible vision loss. The front desk and intake staff were professional, open-minded and super friendly! #savedmysight More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 20, 2016

Awesome DR. and an awesome staff - I have never seen an office go to such great lengths to help and always be kind and concerned...Very patient and the Dr. is the same way..Spends time with you explaining everything and really top notch from the front office staff to techs and the Doctor...Can't say enough kind words about them... More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13632079
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 18, 2016

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 26, 2016

Very professional and feel satisfied having him treat me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 29, 2016

Saved my vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 31, 2015

top notch facility, compassionate professionals - Absolutely wonderful experience. Dr. Sullivan and all the employees we interacted with were compassionate professionals, explaining everything in laymen's terms, ensuring we completely understood. Highly recommend. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11119115
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 31, 2015

Absolutely wonderful experience. Dr. Sullivan and all the employees we interacted with were compassionate professionals, explaining everything in laymen's terms, ensuring we completely understood. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.G.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Oct 29, 2015

I was referred to these people by an optometrist do to me having a cloudiness in my left eye I was immediately made to feel comfortable performed laser surgery in my left eye I was told that would need further treatment 4 days later I am almost at 100% vision back in my left eye thank you so much Sargent Major Mejia U.S.M.C Retired More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 12, 2015

Dr Sullivan is amazing. I trust him 100%. Lovely bedside manner. His new office is wonderful and has a caring and attentive staff. Highly recommend! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11051505
Review from G.G.  |  Source: Merchantcircle  |  Jan 24, 2014

Thank you to everyone in the Park Street office for what you do! You have saved my sight and for that there are no words enough to say 'Thank you'. My sight has improved so much from where I was at 3 years ago. Today thanks to each of yo... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 06, 2015

great physician! - dr. sullivan is all that a great physician should be. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11119122
Review from C.Y.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 05, 2015

dr. sullivan is all that a great physician should be. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Dec 30, 2014

The best doctor i have ever dealt with. His compassion is boundless More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.G.  |  Source: Merchantcircle  |  Jan 24, 2014

Florida Retina Oak Street Office - Thank you to everyone in the Park Street office for what you do! You have saved my sight and for that there are no words enough to say 'Thank you'. My sight has improved so much from where I was at 3 years ago. Today thanks to each of yo... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  Aug 13, 2013

excelent More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10989082
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  May 30, 2012

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11702877
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  May 30, 2012

This review only contains a rating More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Yahoo  |  Oct 26, 2017

There's usually a full waiting room as this is one of two specialist in the Jacksonville area. With that being said it is usually comfortable and the patients are usually over 50 to 90 years of... More

4.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2017

I was referred here by another eye doctor who thought my overnight blurry vision simply meant I needed a prescription!Dr. Sullivan was amazing, and he was able to quickly figure out that Uveitis was my problem. A few months later and I was good to go.I also had an insurance issue that caused all claims from SE Retinal Specialists and my other doctors to get declined. SE Retinal Specialists were the most helpful in getting it resolved by far.My only complaint is that wait times can be long. I've waited for over 3 hours on some days to be seen. Save yourself some of that pain and try to get an earlier appointment. Otherwise, this is one of my favorite doctors to visit by far. Very courteous and skilled. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from F.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 09, 2017

Recently had some Retina tears and Dr Sullivan did a great job getting me back on my feet again. The office, the staff etc are fantastic but I have to remove a star for the insane wait times. Not everyone can afford to take a half day off just for a 5 minute follow up, or even initial appointment. Anyone I spoke with in the waiting rooms( yes you move from one to another) said the same thing, everything about the practice is great except the long waits. My only advice would be to plan a minimum 2 hours from whatever your scheduled appointment time is. I understand there is only one Dr on duty at a time, but they really shouldn't take so many appointments, especially if the Dr's are performing minor surgery too, which they also do at the office. More

4.1
ReviewTracker-14070308
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 22, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

4.1
ReviewTracker-13430623
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 23, 2016

This review only contains a rating More

4.1
ReviewTracker-12628318
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 10, 2016

This review only contains a rating More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 04, 2015

Dr. Sullivan was so kind and put me completely at ease. Warm, considerate, very thorough and fixed my problems. He was one of the best doctors I have ever been to!! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 13, 2015

best retina dr ever - Dr. Sullivan is so kind and patient. Although the wait can be long, he always takes the time I need to answer my concerns and questions. I would never see anyone else. He's the best! Highly recommend. I can't wait to see his new office too. More

4.5
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Jun 13, 2011

Did this provider show attention to detail? Yes, I've never had to worry about them missing any important information Did this provider rush your appointment? No, I was able to ask as many questions as I wanted More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.